Skip Navigation
This table is used for column layout.

CodeRED Emergency Notification Signup
Contact the County
Search Our Site

How to Get Here
Town Seal
DCCC Final Report
The Dukes County Charter Study Commission is a 23 member Commission, which meets the 2nd and 4th Thursdays of the month.  The 23 member board splits into subcommittees and workgroups that meet regularly to handle the large amount of research needed to accomplish their mandate.

Coordinating & Organizational Committees (Click Here for Reports & Documents):
Coordinating Committee: Chairman: Paddy Moore (Click Here for Minutes)

Communication Committee: To assure that the public is informed about the work of the Charter Study Commission by proposing and implementing approaches for communication with the public, town governments, other agencies, and the press.  Chairman: Mimi Davisson (Click Here for Minutes)

Information Committee: Manage a knowledge resource and information library – both electronic and hard copy – for the DCCSC by compiling reference material, understanding relevant statutes, collecting information about other counties’ experiences, and other topics as needed and requested. Chairman: Jim Newman (Click here for Minutes)

Phase 1 Research on County Departments and Functions Committees (Click Here for Reports & Documents)

County Commissioners & Appointments: County Commissioners, Associate Commissioners, and appointed positions (such as representatives to the SSA, MVC, RHA, Health Council, etc. Members: Jeff Kristal, Art Flathers, Nora Nevin, and Jim Newman. (Click Here for Minutes)

County Manager: County functions directly accountable to the County Manager (and/or not covered by the other sub-groups) such as Veterans Affairs, Vineyard Health Care Access Program, managed land and natural resources, Emergency Management, rodent control, etc.   Members: Richard Knabel, Carlene Gatting, Les Leland, and Bill O'Brien. (Click Here for Minutes)

Airport: Members: Ted Stanley, Tristan Israel, Paddy Moore, and Woody Williams. (Click Here for Minutes)

Registry of Deeds & Courthouse: Members: Tim Connelly, Dan Flynn, Holly Stephenson, and Paul Strauss.  (Click Here for Minutes)

Sheriff's Dept: Members: Tad Crawford, Mimi Davsisson, John Early, and Roger Wey.  (Click Here for Minutes)

Treasurer's Dept: Members: Linda Sibley, John Alley, and Lenny Jason. (Click Here for Minutes)

Phase 2 Analysis of Changing or Abolishing County, Finances & Revenue, and Statutory & Political Issues Committees (Click Here for Reports & Documents)
Group I - Impact of Abolishing County Government: Chairman: Jim Newman (Click Here for Minutes)

Group II - Analysis of County Finances and Revenue Sources: Chairman Paul Strauss (Click Here for Minutes)

Group III - Analysis of Statutory and Political Issues: Chairman Dan Flynn (Click Here for Minutes)

The County of Dukes County PO Box 190, Edgartown, MA 02539
Phone: 508.696.3840    Fax: 508.696.3841
   Hours Vary by Department
Virtual Towns & Schools Website