Skip Navigation
This table is used for column layout.

CodeRED Emergency Notification Signup
Contact the County
Search Our Site

How to Get Here
Town Seal
DCC Executive Session Minutes 2004-02-25


February 25, 2004
County Administration Building

During a regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission, Commissioner Paul A. Strauss made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Roger W. Wey, to go into executive session to discuss matters of litigation and security. The motion passed unanimously. A public announcement was made that the open meeting would resume after the executive session.

Present were Chairman John Alley; Commissioners Leonard Jason Jr., Leslie H. Leland, Mr. Strauss, and Mr. Wey; County Manager E. Winn Davis; and Executive Assistant Brian S. Kinal, who took these minutes. Vice Chairman Robert Sawyer and Commission Nelson W. Smith were absent.

In the executive session, Mr.  Davis told Commissioners that a settlement had been reached in a legal case involving overcharges for electricity. The county’s share of the settlement, if approved by all of the communities involved, would be $946.

A condition of the settlement was that the participating communities not seek publicity, Mr. Davis explained.

Mr. Wey made the following motion, seconded by Mr. Strauss: “That the County of Dukes County Commissioners vote to authorize the County Manager to sign the mutual release and settlement agreement between PECO/Horizon and the County of Dukes County et al.” The roll call vote was unanimous in favor.

On personnel matters, Mr. Davis noted that Airport Manager William J. Weibrecht and Assistant Manager Sean Flynn have been sent letters of intent not to renew their employment contracts. Regardless of what the Commissioners ultimately decide about employing the two, the letters were necessary by April 1 to secure the option, he said.

The deadline to respond to a complaint by former Executive Assistant Marsha Smolev is April 27, and the County Manager said the deadline will be met.

On a security matter, Mr. Davis said Emergency Management Coordinator John McCarthy might resign to pursue another opportunity.

A roll call vote to return to open session was unanimous.

Respectfully submitted,
Brian S. Kinal

JOSEPH E. SOLLITTO JR., Clerk of the Courts

The County of Dukes County PO Box 190, Edgartown, MA 02539
Phone: 508.696.3840    Fax: 508.696.3841
   Hours Vary by Department
Virtual Towns & Schools Website