Skip Navigation
This table is used for column layout.

CodeRED Emergency Notification Signup
Contact the County
Search Our Site

How to Get Here
Town Seal
DCC Executive Session Minutes 2006-01-11
Exec. Session 01-11-2006 Rev 1

January 11, 2006
County Administration Building

At the regular meeting of the Dukes County Commission convened during the public session, Commissioner John S. Alley made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Robert M. Sawyer, to go into executive session to discuss several legal matters, and not to return to open session. The unanimous roll-call vote in favor was as follows: Robert Sawyer, yes; Leonard Jason, Jr., yes; Leslie Leland, yes, Paul Strauss, yes; Nelson Smith, yes; John S. Alley, yes.

The executive session was called to order at 7:10 p.m. by Chairman John Alley. A quorum was present with the following commissioners present: John S. Alley, Robert M. Sawyer, Roger W. Wey, Leonard Jason, Jr., Nelson Smith, Paul Strauss, and Leslie Leland. Also present were County Manager E. Winn Davis, County Treasurer Noreen Mavro Flanders, and Executive Assistant Deborah H. Potter, who took these minutes.

Noreen Mavro Flanders, as a plaintiff in the Weibrecht/Flynn lawsuit, expressed her dissatisfaction with the County Commissioner’s in their re-appointment of members to the Airport Commission who, without notice, capriciously set aside the agreement between the Airport Commission and the County Commissioners. Mr. Davis and Ms. Flanders distributed a letter they were requesting to send to Mr. Jesse Law, Martha's Vineyard Airport Commission Chairman, regarding the Vote of the Airport Commission re: Terms of Employment for Airport Manager to brief the commissioners on its content. Roger W. Wey made the motion and Paul Strauss seconded the motion to send the letter as recommended and SO VOTED (5-1-1) with Leslie Leland opposing and John S. Alley abstaining.

With no further discussion, Roger W. Wey made a motion, seconded by Mr. Strauss, to adjourn. The unanimous roll-call vote in favor was as follows: Jason, yes; Strauss, yes; Sawyer, yes; Leland, yes; Wey, yes; Smith, yes. The meeting was adjourned at 7:47 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

JOSEPH E. SOLLITTO JR., Clerk of the Courts

The County of Dukes County PO Box 190, Edgartown, MA 02539
Phone: 508.696.3840    Fax: 508.696.3841
   Hours Vary by Department
Virtual Towns & Schools Website