Skip Navigation
This table is used for column layout.

CodeRED Emergency Notification Signup
Contact the County
Search Our Site

How to Get Here
Town Seal
County Commission Minutes 04/30/03
A meeting of the County of Dukes County Commissioners was scheduled for Wednesday, April 30, 2003 at 7:30 p.m. in the Conference Room of the County Administration Building, notice of such meeting having been posted as required by law.

Commissioners Present:  John Alley, Chairman
                                Leonard Jason, Jr.
                                Leslie Leland
Roger Wey
Paul Strauss
Nelson Smith

Absent:                         Robert Sawyer
Also Present:           Dianne Powers, Acting County Manager    
                        Diane Abbot, Deputy County Manager      
                        Marsha Smolev, Executive Assistant              
                        Noreen Flanders, County Treasurer               
                        David O’Sullivan, Special Sheriff
                        TJ Hegarty, Rodent Control Officer                      
                        Joanna Jernegan
                        Ezra Blair, MV Times
                        Jonathan Burke, Vineyard Gazette
                        William Searle, Environmental Police
                        Arthur Flathers
                        Karen Ogden, Search and Rescue
                        Norman Perry, Emergency Management
                        Stephen Berlucchi, County Engineer (8:00 PM)
Chairman Alley called the meeting to order at 7:30 p.m.
        Commissioner Jason Moved that the Minutes of March 26, 2003
be Accepted as written. Commissioner Smith Seconded the Motion. The Minutes were Approved.

Acting County Manager Dianne Powers reported that Mr. Saltonstall had completed his investigation and the report would be completed soon. Ms. Powers said at that point it would be determined how to proceed.  

Ms. Powers reported that she had ordered a Declaration of a State of Emergency as a result of the oil spill that was affecting Vineyard Sound and the Elizabeth Islands.  Sergeant Bill Searle reported on the emergency meeting that was held at the Coast Guard Station and the collaborative efforts being made to deal with the spill.  Sergeant Searle suggested that the County document everything that takes place regarding the spill including activities and expenses. Questions followed about how the spill would affect Island beaches, waters, shellfish, wildlife, etc., and how volunteers could help.  There was also discussion about the County’s obligation to help all the Elizabeth Islands.  Ms. Powers hoped to hear back from Cuttyhunk soon.

Diane Abbot reported that the two finalists for the position of County Manager would be interviewed Saturday, May 3 at the Tisbury Senior Center at 9 AM.  Ms. Abbot showed the Commissioners a poster of the Shenandoah that was donated by Robert Douglas to be hung in the Conference Room.

Mr. Flathers discussed the letter (dated March 7, 2003) that he sent to the Commissioners.  He stated that A423 that the SSA accepted, “steals money from Martha’s Vineyard and gives it to Nantucket.”  He asked that Ms. Roessel, as the County Commissioners’ representative to the SSA answer why that happened and that the County Commissioners demand an explanation for these circumstances.  Mr. Flathers also said that the audit was not independent since the auditors, DeLoitte and Touche, were reviewing their own work.  Mr. Flathers continued that it was his belief that where the benefit went, the cost should go.  Commissioner Strauss said he needed more information in order to take a position and invited Mr. Flathers to give input at a working meeting.  Mr. Flathers stated it was not his responsibility since he was not the appointee.  Discussion followed.  Commissioner Wey agreed with Commissioner Strauss that a meeting with Mr. Flathers would be a good idea.  Chairman Alley suggested inviting ‘everyone involved’ and said he would set up the meeting.  Commissioner Jason asked that this happen before the summer.  Chairman Alley said hopefully it would happen next month.

Chairman Alley brought up the appointment to the Dukes County Contributory Retirement System.  Commissioner Strauss asked for an explanation of the duties of the appointee.  Treasurer Flanders said the responsibility was fiduciary, that the System had $32 million in assets.  She said the System must be fully funded by 2028 and stressed the importance of the position and sound investment decisions.  The following people sent in letters of interest: Stephen Berlucchi, Mandred Henry, Roger Wey, Judy Jardin, George Balco, Laurence Mercier, Joseph Sollitto, Jr.  The Commissioners voted by paper ballot.  Roger Wey was appointed with three votes.  Judy Jardin, Larry Mercier and Joe Sollitto each received one vote.

Ms. Powers reviewed that a committee had been named to review the appointments for Director of Emergency Management.  She noted that the advertisement for Emergency Management was done in two parts, the Director and the Team.  Ms. Powers stated that the committee unanimously agreed to recommend John McCarthy to be the Director of Emergency Management.  

Commissioner Smith Moved that John McCarthy be appointed Director of
Emergency Management.  Commissioner Jason Seconded the Motion.  The Motion

Commissioner Jason Moved that the Commissioners thank Norman Perry for his
Service as Director of Emergency Management.  Commissioner Smith Seconded
Motion.  The Motion Passed.  

Discussion followed about Commissioner Sawyer’s suggestion to appoint Norman Perry the fourth Deputy. Ms. Powers said she wanted to follow process and process was that names needed to be submitted by December 23, 2002.  Mr. Perry’s letter dated December 27, 2002 was received by the County Manager’s Office on January 8, 2003.  Mr. Perry stated that Mrs. Borer had told him that he had until December 27, 2002 to get his name in.  

        Commissioner Leland Moved to Accept the list of Emergency Management
        Deputies, Director, Search and Rescue, etc. as written.  Commissioner Jason
Seconded the Motion.  Ms. Powers reiterated that once appointed the Emergency
Management Team could reorganize and change things, but it was her position
that it was not up to the County Commissioners to change the list that was
presented by process.  The Motion to Accept the list Passed.  Chairman Alley

Chairman Alley announced that Public Comments were invited on May 12th regarding the Airport Improvement Program Environmental Notification Form.  

(Bill Searle, Karen Ogden left.)

Commissioner Jason stated that ‘once a DRI always a DRI, and the terminal was.’  He added that it was better government to make people aware of things like this.  Chairman Alley said he would speak to Airport Manager Bill Weibrecht.

Commissioner Smith Moved to send this to the Martha’s Vineyard Commission
if it was not already there.  Commissioner Strauss Seconded the Motion.  The Motion Passed Unanimously.

Ms. Powers said the Program did not include the Jail in the Northeast Quadrant that the Commissioners had supported.  She stressed the need to comment on this Form by May 12th.

The Meeting adjourned at 8:43 PM.

Complete text of meeting is available on tape at the County Commissioner’s office.


The County of Dukes County PO Box 190, Edgartown, MA 02539
Phone: 508.696.3840    Fax: 508.696.3841
   Hours Vary by Department
Virtual Towns & Schools Website