Skip Navigation
This table is used for column layout.

CodeRED Emergency Notification Signup
Contact the County
Search Our Site

How to Get Here
Town Seal
County Commission Minutes 11/12/03

A regular meeting of the Board of County Commissioners was held on Wednesday, November 12, 2003, at 7:30 p.m. in the conference room of the County Administration Building, notice having been posted as required by law.~

Commissioners present: Leonard Jason Jr.; Leslie Leland; Robert Sawyer, Co-Chair; Nelson W. Smith; Paul A. Strauss; Roger Wey.

Also present: E. Winn Davis, County Manager; Noreen Marvo-Flanders, County Treasurer; Dianne Powers, Register of Deeds; Dukes County Regional Housing Authority Members Ambrose Seward and Ernest P. Mendenhall; Erin Leighton, Acting Executive Assistant; Alexis Tonti, Vineyard Gazette; and Ezra Blair, MV Times.
Commissioners absent: John Alley (Chairman).

The Co-Chair opened the meeting at 7:35 p.m. Commissioner Leland moved that the minutes of October 8, 2003, be approved as written. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Strauss and approved with Commissioners Jason and Smith abstaining. The minutes of October 22, 2003, will be reviewed at the next meeting.

County Manager’s Report
Signed Skateboard Park agreements have been received; funds are outstanding from two towns. A meeting will be called for next week.  County Manger Davis attended a one-day meeting of personnel policies and procedures, including classification studies and performance evaluations, at a seminar conducted by the MMA in Sturbridge on November 6, 2003.  Mr. Davis will be out of the country November 25-29, 2003, during which time he will have appointed Dianne Powers as Acting County Manager.  A final offer of settlement has been reached on the Dionex Corporation matter for the replacement of the DX-120 Ion Chromatograph. Rob Culbert in Water Testing will calculate lost revenues and expenses; the unit should be replaced with a DX-320 Ion Chromatograph and ICS-2000 RFIC System.  Final Commission Goals will be sent out with recommended steps and timelines.~A bid has been accepted from Wolf Coach for the Mobile Bid Command.  Mr. Davis has enrolled in the Voluntary Credentialing Program of the International City/County Management Association (ICMA) to earn the designation of ICMA Credentialed Manager.

County Treasurer Noreen Marvo Flanders circulated income reports for the first half of fiscal year 2004 (see attached). Commissioner Sawyer asked if the Commissioners could receive a summary expense report, and Mrs. Flanders answered that they will be provided monthly.~

Dukes County Regional Housing Authority
Dukes County Regional Housing Authority [DCRHA] Members Ambrose Seward and Ernest P. Mendenhall were present for the discussion.  Commissioner Jason recalled that the DCRHA was to get back to the Commissioners on the proposed changes and asked if the legislation had been filed. Mr. Seward stated that it is in the hands of Senator O’Leary and may be added to the 40B legislation. Commissioner Wey censured Mr. Jordi for failing to inform the Commissioners of the changes to the legislation after changes to the appointments were discussed at the August 13, 2003, meeting. Mr. Seward stated that one seat on the DCRHA board will be a county appointment. Commissioner Jason and Mrs. Flanders remarked that seven towns, not just Martha’s Vineyard, are affected by the DCRHA. Commissioner Smith stated that the Commissioners should not relinquish the authority to appoint committee members for the DCRHA. Mr. Davis reported that he has e-mailed both Rep. Turkington and Sen. O’Leary; only Rep. Turkington has replied. Commissioner Sawyer called for Mr. Jordi to attend the next meeting, and asked Mr. Seward to forward any materials regarding the legislation before the meeting with Mr. Jordi.~Commissioner Smith moved to draft a letter to Sen. O’Leary and Rep. Turkington stating the Commissioners’ opposition to changing the appointment of authority. He then withdrew the motion and moved to request that Sen. O’Leary not file the legislation until the Commissioners are able to review it with Philippe Jordi and members of the DCRHA. Commissioner Wey seconded the Motion.~The Motion was Approved (6-0-0).

Mr. Seward asked if the Housing Authority needs to advertise for the at-large position on the board, Commissioner Sawyer stated they do not. The process will be discussed at the December 10, 2003, meeting, including whether to appoint a county commissioner or advertise the opening. Commissioner Jason asked that the Selectman of Gosnold be notified of the opening, and Commissioner Sawyer agreed.

County Manager Davis reported that the county has reached an agreement on the parking lot outside of the county building. The airport has provided 7+ acres for the jail, which reduces the area available to negotiate with Hot Tin Roof. The county will get control of land to the fence, cross easements for parking in complementary time, and the remainder of land as agreed upon. Hot Tin Roof patrons may park in the county administration building lot after business hours if the area is kept free of debris.

Commissioner Smith requested that Commissioner’s meeting be held at 7 P.M. and the Commissioners all agreed.

Commissioner Smith moved that the Commissioners enter into executive session and not return to open Session. Commissioner Wey seconded the motion, and the Commissioners invited Dianne Powers and Erin Leighton to attend. Roll Call vote: Commissioner Sawyer – aye; Commissioner Wey – aye; Commissioner Jason – nay; Commissioner Strauss – aye; Commissioner Smith -aye, Commissioner Strauss – aye; and Commissioner Leland - aye.


The County of Dukes County PO Box 190, Edgartown, MA 02539
Phone: 508.696.3840    Fax: 508.696.3841
   Hours Vary by Department
Virtual Towns & Schools Website