Skip Navigation
This table is used for column layout.

CodeRED Emergency Notification Signup
Contact the County
Search Our Site

How to Get Here
Town Seal
DCC Minutes 10-13-2009
Special Joint Meeting of the Dukes County Commission
and the Dukes County Advisory Board
Tuesday, October 13, 2009
4:30 p.m.
County Administration Building

Call to Order
Meeting was called to order at 4:30 p.m. by the chairman of each board.

Commissioners Melinda Loberg, Lenny Jason, Carlene Gatting and Les Leland were present.  Advisory Board members Frank Fenner (Chilmark 15.07%), Arthur Smadbeck (Edgartown 35.96%), Skipper Manter (West Tisbury 14.20%) were present.

Also in attendance were County Manager Russell Smith, and County Treasurer Noreen Mavro Flanders.

FY2010 Budget
Noreen presented draft #11(see attached) of the FY2010 Budget and explained that changes were necessary due to Chapter 102 of the Acts of 2009 which included an amendment to the Sheriff’s Office transfer bill (Chapter 61 of the Acts of 2009).  Chapter 102 requires that the County increase the Sheriff’s Maintenance of Effort (MOE) for the entire FY10.  Previously it was for only one-half of FY10.  The amendment also states that the second half of the MOE is to be paid to the Commonwealth, rather than to the retirement system as stated in Chapter 61.  Noreen has spoken with the County Government Finance Review Board’s (CGFRB) clerk and sent an email to the CGFRB’s Chairwoman LeeAnn Pasquini regarding this unexpected expense.  She will be working on this further, but wanted to get a budget approved for the CGFRB’s meeting on October 14, 2009 (tomorrow). Noreen will fax the results of this meeting to the CGFRB tonight.

Les Leland/ Melinda Loberg moved to approve the FY2010 Budget as presented. So voted. In favor: Les Leland, Melinda Loberg, Carlene Gatting, Lenny Jason. (4-0-0). Motion carries.  

Skipper Manter / Frank Fenner moved to approved the FY2010 Budget as presented. So voted: Edgartown – yes, West Tisbury – yes, Chilmark – yes. Motion carries.

Meeting was adjourned at 5:00 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted by:

JOSEPH E. SOLLITTO JR., Clerk of the Courts

The County of Dukes County PO Box 190, Edgartown, MA 02539
Phone: 508.696.3840    Fax: 508.696.3841
   Hours Vary by Department
Virtual Towns & Schools Website