The Town of Gosnold

The Town of Gosnold, the smallest of the 351 towns in Massachusetts, is made up of the Elizabeth Islands; Nonamesset, Uncatena, Weepecket, Gull, Naushon, Pasque, Nashawena, Penikese and Cuttyhunk.  Town government is located on Cuttyhunk and there are about 120 registered voters.

The Board of Selectmen meet bimonthly and Annual Town Meeting is held the third Monday in May.  There are about 30 year round residents on Cuttyhunk and a few dozen on Penikese, Nashawena and Naushon.  

There is a one room school house on Cuttyhunk for the four current students, and students on Naushon commute to the mainland to go to school.  Cuttyhunk is home to many summer residents, visitors and tourist, known for being a quiet summer retreat and a first class fishing destination.